Aboriginal Patient Liaison Program

Assisting Indigenous people and their families to access high quality, culturally safe health care services

Aboriginal Patient Liaisons (APLs) are an important part of the health care team. Ten APLs are available across the north to assist Indigenous people and their families to access high quality, culturally safe health care services.

Indigenous Health supports this program by:

  • providing training opportunities and mentoring; 

  • supporting a community of practice; 

  • developing communications materials; and

  • collaborative planning, program development and evaluation.

How can I connect with an APL?

Speak with a health care provider for a referral to the Aboriginal Patient Liaison program or contact your local APL directly:

Burns Lake

Lakes District Hospital

Ken Solonas
Ken.Solonas@northernhealth.ca
250-692-2474

Chetwynd

Chetwynd Primary Care Clinic

Iris Demontigny
iris.demontigny@northernhealth.ca
250-788-7305

Dawson Creek

Dawson Creek Health Clinic

Vacant
250-782-8501

Hazelton

Wrinch Memorial Hospital

Angie Combs
Angie.Combs@northernhealth.ca
250-842-4407

North Peace

Fort St. John Hospital

Brittany Brinkworth
Brittany.brinkworth@northernhealth.ca
250-261-7418

Prince George

University Hospital of Northern BC

AboriginalPatientLiaison@northernhealth.ca
250-565-2364

Prince Rupert

Prince Rupert Regional Hospital

Mary Wesley
Mary.Wesley@northernhealth.ca
250-624-2171

Quesnel

GR Baker Memorial Hospital

Lyndsey Rhea
Lyndsey.Rhea@northernhealth.ca
250-985-5812

Smithers

Dze L' Kant Friendship Centre
Bulkley Valley District Hospital

Lola Kemp
Lola.Kemp@northernhealth.ca 
250-847-5211 ext. 214

Terrace and Kitimat

Mills Memorial Hospital 

Lloyd McDames
Lloyd.McDames@northernhealth.ca
250-638-4085

What can an APL assist me with?

  • Arrange for translation services

  • Help patients understand health care processes, procedures and terminology

  • Help to ensure admission and discharge planning goes according to patient needs

  • Advanced Health Care Planning

  • Facilitate communication and cultural understanding between patient and care providers

  • Connect patient to end of life support

  • Coordinate spiritual / cultural advisors

  • Support and comfort family and friends

  • Referrals within Northern Health and to community agencies

  • Help link patients to non-insured health benefits

  • Transition to and within long-term care

Share